Print Friendly

Challenge Bowl



PA Programs







The 2017 National Medical Challenge Bowl will be held Wednesday, May 17 at 7:00 p.m. The 2017 Conference will take place from Monday, May 15 to Friday, May 19. Check the agenda for event dates and times.

Congratulations to the Miami Dade College PA Program, the winners of the 2016 National Medical Challenge Bowl!

AAPA 2016 was the second time since 2014 that Miami Dade earned bragging rights to the coveted silver bowl. The University of Alabama Birmingham team came in second, with the Sophie Davis PA Program at Harlem Hospital Center and Midwestern University at Glendale tied for third.

The Challenge Bowl – a mashup of a medical game show, rave and Big 10 football game – gets more popular each year, with more teams competing in 2016 than any other time in its history.

Make sure your team is ready for AAPA 2017’s Challenge Bowl. Check back in fall 2016 for registration details!

Challenge Bowl Information

What types of questions are asked during the competition?

Questions are asked on a variety of subjects, including physical diagnosis, microbiology, anatomy, OB/GYN, pulmonary, cardiology, primary care, emergency medicine and surgery.

What are the eligibility requirements?

  • At least 75 percent of all PA students in the team’s PA program must be AAPA student members.
  • The team’s Assembly of Representatives representative must attend the AOR meeting held during AAPA’s annual conference.
  • All team members must be AAPA student members currently enrolled in an accredited PA program that has a student society registered with AAPA.
  • All team members must be registered for AAPA’s annual conference.
  • Only one team member per team can be graduating within 30 days of competition. 

How do I register a team?

Team registration will open on February 1, 2017,


What is the cost of registration?

There is no entrance fee. Participants must be registered as conference attendees and show their conference name badge at team registration. 

When will I know if my team has been accepted?

  • All teams will be notified of their eligibility status in March.
  • For more information, contact the Student Academy National Office at 571-319-4310 or email


2016 Qualified Teams



Arcadia University-Pennsylvania
Baldwin Wallace University
Bethel University Tennessee
Bryant University
Butler University
Campbell University
Clarkson University
Desales University
Drexel University
Duke University
Elon University
Emory University
Gardner Webb University
George Washington University
Harding University
Hofstra University
Interservice PA Program
James Madison University
Lake Erie College
LeMoyne College
Long Island University
Lynchburg College
MCPHS Manchester
Mercer University
Mercyhurst Univeristy
Miami Dade College
Midwestern University-Downers Grove
Misericordia University
Mississippi College
Missouri State University
Northeastern University
Northern Arizona University
Nova Southeastern University – Jacksonville
Nova Southeastern University- Fort Myers
Nova Southeastern University- Ft. Lauderdale
Nova Southeastern University- Orlando
Oregon Health and Science University
Pace University
Penn State University
Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine
Philadelphia University
Quinnipiac University
Red Rocks Community College
Rush University
Rutgers University
Saint Louis University
Salus University
Shenandoah University
Sophie Davis Biomedical School Harlem Hospital
South College
South University-Savannah
Southern Illinois University
Springfield College
Stanford School
Stony Brook University
Sullivan University
The University of Toledo
Touro University Nevada
Tufts University
Union College
University of Alabama at Birmingham
University of Arkansas
University of Bridgeport
University of Detroit Mercy
University Of Florida
University of Kentucky
University of Mount Union
University of North Texas Health Science Center
University of Oklahoma -Tulsa
University of Oklahoma-OKC
University of Southern California
University of Texas Health Science Center- San Antonio
University of Texas-Rio Grande Valley
University of Utah
University of Washington Medex- Tacoma
University of Washington Medex-Seattle
University of Washington Medex-Spokane
Wake Forest University
Wichita State University
Yale University

Thank You To Our Sponsors

Platinum Sponsors

fIMM-030515-1-NCCPA Logo Update-CMYK-300dpi WoltersKluwerlogo color

Gold Sponsors

NEJM logo

Silver Sponsors

CMELogo2015OUT ym-logo[tag]